Conservative First

December 2, 2008

Twitter-pated

I think it was a week ago Sunday on KOA that I heard a host and guest talking about Twitter being used by Republicans.  Then last Friday, Hugh Hewitt posted an article titled “All A-Twitter: A Late Adapter Alert” at Townhall.com.  (I think he meant “late adopter” instead of “late adapter.”)  His article was about the gap between the Republicans’ and Democrats’ use of technology.  (He linked to the transcript of a discussion he had about this issue with Rob Neppell, president of www.kithbridge.com, and David All, founder and president of www.davidallgroup.com.) After a request by an attendee at a dinner where he spoke, Hewitt decided to start “twittering.”

I’ve had a number of professional colleagues who have joined Twitter, and I decided it was time to do so myself.  Yesterday I created to Twitter accounts:  one under my real name for professional “tweets” and one as Sofie Inkpen for politics.  I found some familiar names and faces (or logos) on Twitter:

Hewitt is right about the technology gap.  I think it’s obvious from looking at Obama‘s and McCain‘s Twitter pages.  Obama has 140,639 followers and 263 updates; his last update was made on Nov. 5.  McCain has 4,819 followers and 25 updates; his last update was made on Oct. 24.  (I wonder if either candidate actually made the updates himself.)

In his article, Hewitt also linked to the page where you can request the David All Group’s “Twitter 101 Guide.”

1 Comment

  1. […] @ 4:29 pm Tags: conservatives, social media, Twitter, web 2.0 I joined Twitter on December 1.  As I wrote the next day, I was aware of a number of my professional colleagues (in higher education) who were using […]

    Pingback by My Take on Twitter after a Month « Conservative First — December 29, 2008 @ 4:29 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

