Conservative First

July 18, 2009

Summer Reading: The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Constitution

Filed under: Politics — Sofie @ 11:18 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I just finished reading The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Constitution by Kevin R. C. Gutzman (Washington, DC: Regnery Publishing, 2007).  It took me a while to figure out why there was a pig on the cover, but I finally got it (PIG = Politically Incorrect Guide).

I should have read it before Who Killed the Constitution? by Gutzman and Thomas E. Woods Jr. because it starts with the American Revolution and provides a good introduction to Who Killed the Constitution?, which begins with World War I.

The main point of the book for me was that “[f]ar from being the protector of the Constitution, the Supreme Court [along with Congress and many presidents] as been a relentless agent of an ever more powerful and unrestrained federal government” (200), as Gutzman thoroughly demonstrates in both books.

I was interested in one idea Gutzman mentions in the “Conclusion”:  “create a constitutional council of the fifty states . . . [that] could help restore the republican federal government of very limited powers we started off with and undo the unrepublican judgeocracy of limitless powers we have now” (220).  This idea caught my attention (obviously), and I’d like to learn more about it.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

