Conservative First

May 25, 2012

Bennet Watch 5-24-12: Law of the Sea Treaty

I signed Dick Morris’s petition to “Fight The Treaty That Cedes Our Sovereignty.”  I received the following less-than-satisfactory response from one of my senators, Michael Bennet:

Thank you for contacting me regarding the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (LOS Convention).  I appreciate hearing from you.

As you may know, the LOS Convention defines the rights and responsibilities for use of world oceans.  It establishes guidelines for governing activities in and on the ocean, and for the use of natural resources that are retrieved from international waters.  Although the Convention was opened for signature in 1982, the United States has not signed on to the LOS Convention, arguing that certain changes must be made so as not to preempt U.S. law.

The Obama Administration and the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations have recently expressed interest in the U.S. signing on to the LOS Convention.  Although I believe that accession to the Convention will help demonstrate our country’s commitment to protecting marine resources, we must first address any ambiguities in the text to ensure that current U.S. regulations are not rendered ineffective or obsolete.

Should the Senate consider the LOS Convention in the coming months, I will keep your thoughts in mind.

Again, thank you for contacting me.

1 Comment

  1. […] As I mentioned yesterday, I signed Dick Morris’s petition to “Fight The Treaty That Cedes Our Sovereignty.”  I received this response from my congressman, Ed Perlmutter: Thank you for contacting me about the Law of the Seas Treaty (LOST). I appreciate hearing from you on such an important issue because it enables me to better represent the beliefs and values of our district. […]

    Pingback by Perlmutter Watch 5-25-12: Law of the Sea Treaty « Conservative First — May 26, 2012 @ 6:31 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

